Adventurers in Films

Movies have a great impact in me, I go to the cinema at least 1 day, every week. I search for new ones in Cuevana and Netflix, I go to the video store to look for indie films. I LOVE movies. They transport me, they made me forget about everything for 2 or 3 hours and I can be free for that time.

Of course, what I love the most is adventure films, where the people leave everything they know, everything they have and just leave. Either it is to find a mummy, save the world, find yourself or anything.

I did a post about films, Movies to wander, which is essentially the same, but this one is about the people. Persons I would want to be when I grow older and “wiser”.

  • Lara Croft. She is strong, determined, beautiful and sexy.. all at the same time. She’s not afraid to fight for what its right and for the people. In the movies, she goes to Africa, Asia, Europe.. EVERYWHERE. Maybe is the fact that Angelina Jolie is the one interpreting her role, but either way, this woman ROCKS.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • Indiana Jones. Well who hasn’t heard about Indy. The moment I watch it I fell in love. A professor with a awesome “double life” as an archaeologist. Everything I crave for in life (maybe not the professor thing). He knows about everything, every detail in history, and can throw a fight.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • Adèle Blanc-Sec. I’m pretty sure you haven’t heard from her. But if you have well, congrats! The movie is in French Les Aventures extraordinaires d’Adèle Blanc-Sec). But don’t let me fool you, I don’t know any French other than oui, monsier, je m’appelle, je t’aime and voulez vous coucher avec moi. If i ever get to France, I’m fucked :). Anyways, she’s an adventurer that goes to Egypt, finds a mummy and tries to resurrect it. What I like about her is that she’s so determined, she never takes a NO for an answer and even though she gets all full of dirt, she never loses her lady-like manners.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • Che Guevara. Oh what can I say about him. He was a revolutionary that helped Cuba. But before that he took an adventure of travelling South America all the way from Argentina with his motorcycle and his friend. The movie Diarios de Motocicleta was made out of this first trip they did. Since this is a movie based on real events, he doesn’t fight with mummies or kills the bad guy but he does something great, he gets out of his comfort zone and goes to find himself (a real life wanderer), goes to see how real life is and the gap between poor and rich people. Its a really touching and eye-opener movie, plus Gael Garcia Bernal is easy on the eyes too 🙂

Lo que teníamos en común: nuestra inquietud, nuestro espíritu soñador, el incansable amor por la ruta. 

What we had in common: our restlessness, our dreamer spirit, and the tireless love for the road.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well that’s it, I’m pretty sure there are more movies with amazing adventurers but these are the ones I love the most. I swear I can watch Indiana Jones all day.

If you have any other movies in mind that should be included don’t hesitate and let me know. I’ll be happy to put them here.

Have a nice weekend everyone!

R.

Leave a Reply

