There is something for everyone -part 1

My dad is an accountant. Every since I was a little girl I’ve known that it is the only thing my dad have done. Numbers, numbers, numbers.. sit behind a desk and numbers, numbers, numbers all day. It’s a respectable career of course, thanks to my dad we live pretty well, I go to college, we have cars, internet, everything. I love my dad dearly.

He has always known he wanted to be an accountant, ALWAYS. Sometimes I envy people that knows exactly what they want to do at an early age. Sometimes I don’t..

Because we are all pretty well economically I can say, I want to study what I want. What I mean is that, I’ve always wanted things that seem impossible because I’ve never had a clear view of my future, never, even when I was little I would dream of being an archaeologist and go to Egypt (pre-wanderlust). My dad knock that dream down by saying “what’s that good for?”.. shit, a dream shattered.. of course I saw the reality a little later and I really don’t like history that much and if I really wanted to do that I would have to go to who knows where to study it. But the wanderlust, the itchiness never ceased. I still love Egypt, if I find a job there related to mummies and stuffs I will stay, be sure of that.

My point is that now that I’m so caught up in the itchiness to travel. I know that, it is my thing. But there are people that would really want to travel but they can’t, maybe because they needed to help their families or for any other reason where they didn’t have a choice.

Those people do such an important work in the world. They are there for some reason. Imagine a world without managers, call centers, secretaries, and all those stuffs that I wouldn’t imagine doing in a million years (I worked at a call center and I HATED it). Everything is a cycle. The world wouldn’t work without those people. It is true, if more people would follow their dreams the world would be a better place but most of the times, those people didn’t have a choice. I thank them. Thank you. You are doing a great job.

If you can’t do what you want, have hobbies related to it, but don’t abandon your dreams. They are there for a reason, they define you.

I know my father was a really good athlete, he played basketball, volleyball and water polo during high school, he was so good that he even went abroad a couple of times to play. I know that’s my dad’s calling, my dad’s true dream. But circumstances and life made him choose another love, accounting. He needed to support my grandma and I’m proud of that. I’m proud of my dad.

Because of that series of events I’m here, now, in this point, writing this, with Fast 5 in the TV, air conditioner and a bed to lay. Thank you dad. Because of him I can choose what to do with my life. And that’s how most of the people I know are right now. That’s why when a friend tells me, “oh I’m gonna study something safe first to earn money and then study what I love”, I say “really? what if you can’t study what you want afterwards, because you are too old or whatever?”, they say “it doesn’t matter, I will have money”, and what if you don’t earn any money?.. and there the discussion continues on me pointed out as crazy and them as the reasonable ones. Don’t worry, I’m used to it.

I’m not gonna say I hate those people, because I don’t, but I get so mad because your parents busted their backs for you to be happy and study what YOU want. Ok you want money, but you can’t buy happiness with money. I know I want to be happy, I can have the luxury thanks to my dad to do whatever I want with my life so I take that opportunity. People studying shit that they don’t like are so unhappy all the time, are so bittered, so frustrated to escalate whatever they have to escalate to get money, to buy stuffs and get more money and get more stuffs and die.. with nothing. That’s not life.

Sorry if I’m being a little dramatic with this but it frustrates me. If you have the opportunity to follow your dreams, go for it! do it!, be happy! . Take advantage of the opportunities, they may not come twice.

I can go on and on and on about this topic but it’ll take several posts and few aspirins to get it over with so let’s wrapped this first post up.

Thank you to all the people that has sacrifice their dreams because of something they couldn’t have the opportunity to change. But really, the moment you have the opportunity to make your dream, do it. Don’t think it 3 times, just go for it, that’s when you’ll be happy.

This entry was posted in Inspiring, wanderlust and tagged , , , , , by RissethY. Bookmark the permalink.

About RissethY

Twenty something female from the tiny but mighty Panama. Wallflowering from the back of any room with my camera, eating corn, chicken, mushrooms or olives. Sweet & sour personality depending on the day or my period. Wanderlusting my way through life. Travel is mesmerizing and fulfilling and my fuel, and so is art ~ I make up words. I believe in the power of the senses, the body and the soul and bullshit ~ Enjoy or hate!

Leave a Reply

